Sunday, August 19, 2012

Trouble in Texas by Katie Lane

  • Name: Trouble in Texas
  • Author: Katie Lane
  • ISBN: 9781455515714
  • Genre: Romance
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
  • Publication/Expected Publication: December 18, 2012

This is the fourth book in the author's "Deep in the Heart of Texas" series.  I have not read the other three, but this book stands on its own.

Elizabeth Murphy is the local librarian who recently inherited the nearby house of ill repute, "Miss Hattie's Henhouse."  Although Lizzie wants to sell, the three "hens" who still live there refuse to leave.  They have their hearts set on reopening the Henhouse.

Branston (Brant) Cates comes to town to attend his brother's wedding (the circumstances of which are probably covered in one of the first three books).  He decides to stop off at the Henhouse, believing it to be abandoned.  There is a legend that his grandfather was killed there, an event which sparked the "Cates Curse."  The three old hens drug him and hold him captive so he won't report them to the police.

Thus begins a series of events almost as unbelievable as it is comical.  Will the hens be able to get Lizzie and Brant together? Will the Henhouse reopen? What really happened to Brant's grandfather?  Almost as entertaining as the story itself are the "Henhouse Rules" included as the start of each chapter.  I would recommend this book to people looking for light summer romance reading.

**Please note that I did receive a free copy of this book via Netgalley.**

No comments:

Post a Comment